Akarana Yacht Club

Tuesday Room 8 spent the whole day sailing at Akarana Yacht Club.
Through the New Navigators Programme we were given the opportunity to sail a Quest and an Optimist in Okahu Bay. Even though the day was rainy and overcast we still had fun. Dressed in a rash shirt, waterproof jacket, life vest and helmet we were ready for any weather.

My favourite boat was the Quest. Nico, the coach, allowed me to steer the boat. It was the first time and it felt good being in control. We had a water gun on board which we used to squirt my classmate in other boats.

At the end of the day we jumped into the water from the pontoon. It was deep and my crocs fell off my feet. Luckily I had my life jacket on so I was able to float. I loved floating in the deep water.

It was a great day thanks to Rotary St Johns for sponsoring St Patrick’s School. Without their help we would not have had the opportunity

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *